The Jackson Street Baptist Church was organized in April 1888, by Rev. A. A. Hamilton and others in the State Golden Rule Hall then located on Farmer Street. The original membership consisted of 75 conscientious people. The church called the Rev. A.M. Johnson, D.D. of Port Gibson, MS as the first pastor. The congregation bought a lot at a cost of $1000.00 on the corner of Second North and Jackson Streets. For two years they continued to worship in the State Golden Rule Hall. On July 10, 1899, the ground was broken for the building of an elaborate brick edifice.

The building would have a main auditorium up stairs with balcony that, according to history, would seat 800 persons. This would be a model of beauty and would be finished in the latest style. According to history, the parlor (basement) has a large lecture room, dining room, and kitchen, together with the young men's gymnasium. This is one of the best church buildings, as well as, the largest and finest (when completed) owned by black people in the State of Mississippi. It was built under the direction of the pastor A.M. Johnson and the Board of Trustees. According to history with this writing, the membership of the church numbered about 350 members. There is one feature about the erection of this church that shows the progress of the Negro, and that is, all of the work was done by Negroes.

The church numbers among its membership some of the most progressive young men and women in the State. Under the direction of the Church, they have a model Sunday School, a B.Y.P.U and a Benevolent Society, which looks after the wants of the poor and sick members of the Church. The Church, when completed, would have a cost of about $25,000.00.
During the years, the following ministers served as pastors: Rev. A.M. Johnson; Rev. W.H. Burrell; Rev. Z.M. Winder; Rev. H. Hunter, Rev. Roy Hawkins; Rev. A.W. Wilson was elected as pastor in 1934 and served until his death in 1980; Rev. Harold S. Green was elected as pastor December of 1981 and served until his death in 1991; Rev. Kelvin Langston was elected as pastor September 1991 and served until September 1992; Rev. .Leonard Walker was elected as pastor December 1992 and served until September 2000; and the present pastor, Rev. John W. Carroll, Sr. was elected December 2001.

Jackson Street Church has catered to the youth of Vicksburg through its Baptist Young People's Union, Junior Missionary Society, Sunday School, Youth Choirs, Vacation Bible School, and Block Carnivals. It was the first Black Church to organize a Vacation Bible School. The basement (Fellowship Hall) served as a Head Start Center for a number of years. It is one of the few Black Baptist Churches that has a full-time pastor and regular worship service every Sunday. History records that Jackson Street Church held the first Women's Day Program in Vicksburg


The Charter of Incorporation of the Jackson Street Missionary Baptist Church

Sec.1.   Be it remembered that Amos M. Johnson, E. P. Eastman, Nathan Smith, John Pope, Joseph Israel, John Love, Sam Chrismas, Alex Neil, Lee W. Foreman, H.C. Barrett, Millard Mohan, Ambrose Mitchell, Joseph Smith, James Collins, Jerry Langs, Amanda Johnson, M. A. Foreman, Kate Fountain, Wilson Gowens, Eliza Davis, Mahala Childs, Melvina Walker, Marcella Smith, Elsie Grey, Julia Carter, Millard Mohan, Malinda Henry, John Grey, Sallie Shelton, Annie Davis, Isabella Foster, Millie Scott, Geraldine Marshall, Adeline Harris, Tennessee Pope, Emma Pope, Mamie Coffee, Cora B. Smith, Frances Foreman, Maryetta Eastman, Jennie Mohan, Mattie Smith, Rosa Foster, Mattie Washington, Susie Lee Israel, Annie Israel, Cornelia Childs, Willie Donald, Sallie Lewis, Amanda Jackson, Laura Mohan, Lizzie Holliday, Walter Foster, Mannie Foster, Monie M. Marshall, Sarah E. Marshall, Josephine Johnson, Mamie Pope, Amanda Jones, Abe Anderson, Nancy Johnson, Blanche Javers, Fred Johnson, Salina Griffin, Emily Moore, Sallie Madison, Harriett Thorbs, Frances Jackson, Eveline Lowery, Birdie Collins, F. B. Merritt, James Jackson, Lula Scott, Clarissie Christmas, Millie Scott, Martha Stewart, Mattie Hardy, Ben Hodges, Rosa Christmas, Gordon Carrington, Nellie Downing, Rev. Solomon Madney, Frances Madney, Mollie Whitehead, A. T. Walker, Joshua Holmes, Abe Donald, Margaret Jackson, Cora Dockson, Hattie Johnson, Ellen Johnson, Katie Fountain, Alexander Fountain, James Martin, Frank Rose, Henry Brown, Mary Little, Malinda Downing, Henry Tucker, Caroline Wisher, Flora Merrill, Chanie Moore, Missouri Stewart, Bettie Mitchell, Zelphia Williams, Stella Thorbs, Samuel Covington, Ernestine Javers, Mamie Merritt, Anna Lord, Susie Butler, Israel Scott, Amanda Jackson, Sallie Cockerell, Eugenia Lewis, Joseph Pope, Mary Woodruff, W. C. Carrington, Sarah Templeton, John Downing, Clara Madney, Sallie Mollison, Bro. Johnson, Alexander Windley, Mollie Jackson, Henry Clendening, Mary Young, Mary Jane Williams, Sister Simmons, Mattie Anderson, Bepie Fountain, Cato Carter, Elbert Bryson, Ersline Rose, L.W. Washington, John Little, Rosa Madison, Sadie Tucker, Lucy Coats, Alexander Shaw, Chas. L. Dickson, Lucy Harrington, Susan Holt, Victoria Peyton, Jane Wilson, Carrie Smith, Joanna Wise, Ellen Luckett, Hettie Lang, Alma Johnson, Sip Lewis, Annie Calwell. Eliza Logan, Lizzie Gowins, Lizzie Tinewell, Wm. Moore, Steve Leins, Dock Boyd, Janie Mathews, Bro. B. R. Bell, Christine Plump, Jinnie Mitchell, Tinney Pruitt, Fannie Reed, Rev. H. C. Foster, Percilla Young, Lewis Madney, Curtis Lee, Mary Eliza Lee, Sarah Agustas, Classie Cahn, Bettie Jackson, W. K. Smith, Anthony Gaiters, Maggie Hopper, H. L. Smith, Julia James, Queen Wills, Eleanor Wills, Frank Johnson, Ellen Stalkhouse, Margaret Bradshaw, Ida Hamilton, Howard N. Singleton, Viney Purrell, Emma Waylord, Scott Jones, Susan Darden, Fannie Miller, Suda Walker, Mack Marshall, their associates, successors and assigns be, and they are hereby incorporated and made a body politic and corporate under the name and style of the Jackson Street Missionary Baptist Church and by that name may sue and be sued, plead and be impleaded in all the courts of law and equity in this State – may have a common seal and may alter the same at pleasure.

Original Mambers
Jackson Street Missionary Baptist Church
1416 Jackson Street
Vicksburg, MS  39183      Phone: 601-634-6535
Vision: "The Church Seeking To Fulfill The Great Commission"  Matthew 28:18-20
Web Hosting Companies